Prize & Award

Erich Saling Maternity Prize

The Erich Saling Maternity Prize is attributed every two years at the European Congress of Perinatal Medicine, to one Obstetrician and one Neonatologist who have distinguished themselves in their professional career and dedication to the field of Perinatal Medicine.
Candidates may be proposed by anyone from inside or outside the field of Perinatal Medicine. Proposals should be sent by email to the Secretary-General of the EAPM at least 9 months before the start of the European Congress of Perinatal Medicine.

This email must include the full name of the candidate, country of residence, and a Word file with all the information relevant to the attribution of the prize:

  • Short summary of the professional career not exceeding one A4 page, including personal efforts to improve Perinatal Medicine in Europe.
  • List of papers published in peer-reviewed international journals, list of published scientific books, list of invited lectures at international scientific meetings.

The jury for attribution of the prize is constituted by all Executive Board members of the EAPM, who can therefore not be nominated for attribution of the prize. Voting will take place at the last Executive Board meeting held before the European Congress of Perinatal Medicine.
A majority vote, by secret ballot, is required for attribut on of the prize. Voting on the various candidates will be repeated as many times as necessary, after excluding the candidate with the lowest number of votes, until a majority decision is reached. Interim results of the voting procedure will not be revealed to the outside.

Previous Erich Saling Maternity Prize winners

2022 Linda de VriesThe Netherlands
2022 Yves VilleFrance
2021 Giuseppe BuonocoreItaly
2021 Vincenzo BerghellaUSA
2018 Sir Sabaratnam ArulkumaranUnited Kingdom
2018 Hugo LagercrantzSweden
2016 Gerard H.A. VisserThe Netherlands
2016 Dominique HaumontBelgium
2014 Christian P. SpeerGermany
2014 Kypros NicolaidesUK
2012 Mikko HallmanFinland
2012 Roberto RomeroUSA
2010 Aris AntsaklisGreece
2010 Henry L HallidayNorthern Ireland
2008 Gian Carlo Di RenzoItaly
2008 Ola SaugstadNorway
2004 Emile PapiernikFrance
2002 Bengt RobertsonSweden
2000 Asim KurjakCroatia
1998 Claudine Amiel-TisonFrance
1996 Stuart CampbellUK
1994 E. Osmund ReynoldsUK
1992 Tom K.A.B. Eskes AlexandreNetherlands
1990 MinkowskiFrance
1988 Heinz F.R. PrechtNetherlands
1986 Ian DonaldUK
1984 Albert and Renate HuchSwitzerland
1982 Erich SalingGermany
1980 Gösta RoothSweden
1978 Graeme C. LigginsNew Zealand
1976 Geoffrey Dawes
Scroll to Top